top of page

having fun?

Yes, I have a headache from trying to decipher who’s ignorant and who’s not on Facebook. And yes, I’m totally having a coming to life moment about the realizations of workforce politics at my internship. And the biggest yes of them all? YES, I REALLY REALLY REALLY WANT TO BE IN AUSTRALIA ALREADY! But despite the million and one things that single handedly give me mini-heart attacks every second of the day is that I’m still having fun.

If you really think about it, I’m doing the one thing most people wish that 1. They have the balls to do. or 2. Have the means: financially, emotionally, or intellectually to do. Well, I have the balls for the job. As for everything else, I’m just gonna see how much fun I can have facing the facts. I mean, who else goes to Australia with a one way plane ticket? Not many people I know.

Now, don’t be confused! I am indeed working hard and saving. But it’s all a balancing act of priorities as most of you may know. But back to the point of having fun...yeah! I’m having it! I’m enjoying nature, laughing at myself when I find the chance, and I’m not stressing myself or anyone else out! I must admit, part of this seems crazy! It’s the total unsafe, risky, and adventurous option that I am taking. However, it’s also the most fulfilling. Whether I become stranded and have to stay in Australia for an extra semester or if I make it back home, I still learned a bloody lot about life and making real life changing decisions.

I had a good conversation with one of my mentors and to some extent had a realization as to my “it” factor. Some people are athletic, mathematically geniuses, or even great with connecting with people instantly, but my claim to fame is my spontaneity to create viable circumstances with whatever I’m given. For example, at the age of 16 before I was placed in group homes, I was in the process of becoming emancipated. On a lighter note, I managed to create and execute a women empowerment event for roughly sixty high school and middle school girls for free. What did I do to succeed? I jammed to Hannah Montana every now and then instead of sending an email. I invited friends over for a taste of Africa dinner. Regardless the details, I always had my best results when I let loose and had fun.

There’s something significant about allowing your brain to become “numb.” I would describe it as tearing down a wall of standards. When I stumble upon a solution while doing something as carefree as planking two tree logs, it is may be because I have stop thinking about what society, parents, friends, or coworkers will think of me. It’s strange. I almost just think about what would be the easiest and most effective plan as opposed to what would benefit x party while maintaining whatever for y party but not insulting z party and so forth.

If you know me, you know I’m not a kid person, but I do believe we have a lot to learn from them. And the first thing is how to be open. They teach us how no matter what their friend looks or sounds like, that they should know what it’s like to be swung as high as possible on the playground swing. Or how cool their friend’s picture would look if you shared your 64 pack of crayons. Children teach us how to have fun. And having fun teaches us how to love and have faith. I hate to beat a dad horse, but I’m scared. I’m scared that I might not make it back to the states or that a small detail will completely shape my entire experience. It’s very possible, but I will not worry too badly. I know that I will smile at the irony if my 22 hour flight has turbulence or laugh at the fact that I will probably return saying my diet was strictly Vegemite and beer. I’ll look back on the pictures and say that I may or may not made it to where I thought I was going, but I made it somewhere. And having fun getting somewhere is better than having no fun sitting anywhere.

DONATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

As my time in the land down under comes to a close, I hope to continue to experince it as much as possible!

 

Any contribution helps & is appreciated! Contact me with more details on how to donate!!

Quote of the Week:

 

Motivation is what gets you started. Habit is what keeps you going."

 

-Jim Ryuh

 

 

 FOLLOW THE creator: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page