top of page

the land down under

So before you become all aggro with two shakes of a stick, take pause and know that I have been trying my hardest to sit down and blog. But it’s so hard when you’re in the most beautiful place in the world with Koalas & kangaroos just a short 20 minute ride away from you. But here I am! Finally writing….to YOU!

As I was looking back at the roughly five post that I started to write since I’ve landed, none of them sounded ‘authentic’ enough for me. So I decided that I would just write. No story. No cool title. No hidden message. This first post is simply just you and me having a simple convo. Alright, mate, let’s go!

Flight to Australia: Ya know….I am still amazed at how a multi-ton piece of metal floats in the air for 20 hours carrying a couple hundred people. But it somehow works and I love the opportunities it provides. Being half way across the world has truly given me appreciation for the advancement of technology and the ability to connect and stay connected. I met this little girl who sat next to me on my flight with her mother. Her name was Gretta. Let me tell you about Gretta! She is the most adorable little thing you’ll ever meet. She’s about six or seven, and she’s in the prime phase of “But mommy, why….” question asking age. As I settle next to Gretta, I noticed she had a little stuffed animal. Immediately, I thought “How can this be any more perfect. I quickly pull out my stuff friend, Rico and we bonded instantaneously.

Eighteen hours later, I made a friend with an equally small bladder and equally big heart. I just wish I could thank her one more time for helping me start this amazing journey with the innocence and open mind that she has.

On a more technical note, the flight was smooth as could be. I flew with Qantas. If you ever need to go international to Straya or New Zealand, I highly advise them.

Orientation Part 1: I stayed in Melbourne for four nights for the first part of my orientation with Arcadia University. My cohort consists of nineteen girls & five other guys. “They” say study abroad is where you’ll meet the people you’ll know for the rest of your life. I think that’s pretty true so far. I want to be selfish and think that we just have a perfect chemistry and the stars aligned for our term and group, but deep down I think this is really what it’s about. Drinking. Laughing. Crying. And more drinking. :)

My orientation leader is named Amanda but she goes by Gizmo. She’s about six feet tall, curly blonde hair, fit, and has the typical chill Ozzie attitude. She’s super great and we both have a mutual love for adventure and fun. Even as I sit here and type this, I just realized, out of 24 students and one leader, I don’t have a pressing issue with any one of them. #Blessed Haha

Melbourne is an amazingly large and diverse city. It’s quickly growing as an industrially advanced city.

Orientation Part 2: My liver hurts. “O Week” takes drinking to a whole different level. I did not gain a single bit of useful academic information. Oh well…..haha. When in Australia, do as the Australians.

The Campus: It truly feels like a resort. The rest of my cohort and I have beautiful views of the Skyline, pool/hot tub, campus lake, and gorgeous Aussies! Speaking of which, everyone here is literally so gorgeous. I think it’s required you have to be an 8/10 to attend. There’s this huge lake that connects through to the ocean and it assumingly has Bull sharks (the school’s mascot) in it. You know who won’t be finding out if that’s true or not? ME! The classrooms are state of the art. The food is unreal. I’ve had sirloin steak every day since I’ve been here because it’s on my dining plan and that’s normal. Like...YES AND THANK YOU!? The only disappointing thing is really the gym. It’s super tiny and not modern. But fret not! It is going under renovation and construction to be remodeled and extended.

The Culture: Interesting. People are extremely fit and confident. And the assumption that Aussies are more relaxed seems to be fairly true. Even my professors swear in class and say slightly off putting but intriguing things regarding race and politics.

Also, I wish I could describe in more clarity the drinking culture here. Its very much apart of everything but not necessarily a mandatory or forced thing. It’s kinda…”expected” that drinking will be happening at any gathering. I’m sure there will be a post in the future about it. :)

Me: I’m happy. I’ve never been so happy and content and refreshed in my life! I think my biggest struggle right now is finding a job. But overall, life is good. I wake up each day and it all still feels so brand new. Some may call it fortune or hard work or even the grace of God. No matter what it may be labeled, for me...I’m calling it a much needed experience. My inner confidence has rocketed. I feel at ease even when my girls stress me out about which bag of wine we’re gonna buy. And most importantly, I’m learning a lot about people from all around the world and how I perceive and interact with them and vice versa. This experience is EPIC. I promise now that I’m settled I will keep you all posted with my latest revelations and memorable experiences!

Thank you again to everyone who helped me get to this point. Cheers!

DONATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

As my time in the land down under comes to a close, I hope to continue to experince it as much as possible!

 

Any contribution helps & is appreciated! Contact me with more details on how to donate!!

Quote of the Week:

 

Motivation is what gets you started. Habit is what keeps you going."

 

-Jim Ryuh

 

 

 FOLLOW THE creator: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page