top of page

i am enough

For those of you who have never traveled abroad….DO IT. Why, you may ask? For starters, You will hear things about your home country that you could never begin to conceptualize. After speaking with locals or other international visitors, in a matter of minutes your country will sound like the most amazing yet behind the-times place to live. You’ll find that you miss it more than you thought, and you might even discover that the most recent of global matters are now your matters. Study abroad. Expand your horizons.

I met this guy named Ken! Ken is from Malaysia and has lived in Australia for a couple of years. Currently, he’s working on getting his Bachelors in Psychology with a minor in Economics. He speaks eight languages, and like many of us is dealing with a harsh past. But here’s the thing about Ken, he’s real. Past his less than perfect English, he brings thoughts to the conversation that challenge both the argument and the opposition. He’s just an overall amazing guy.

I came to visit Ken last night and it was casual as usual. We talk. We cuddle. We let the night go as it may. We have somewhat of a romantic but logical relationship (Basically friends with benefits). Nevertheless, as we were talking about deep shit as usual, I held him in my arms and cuddled him. Out of nowhere, he starts to cry. I mean really cry! I comfort him of course until he stops but what happens next really blows me. He wipes away his tears and turns to me in the most adorable and sincere way and whispers, “Never stop being you, Carlo.”

I immediately weep.

Something I didn’t mention about Ken is that with his ‘harsh past’ he also carries harsh mental burdens. This is relevant because for someone who also carries these harsh mental burdens, I find it so ironic and beautiful that someone else can look past my flaws to see the good and inspiration in me. A personal mountain that I wanted to overcome while abroad was that I wanted to truly let go and give into who I really am. I wanted to not think twice about what I wear or say or do because I fear that I won’t be accepted or liked. Ken taught me something that night as we both sat there holding each other crying...I am enough.

To the society that oppresses my population of black brothers and sisters...I am enough,.

To the “friends” back home who only showed interest when I was at my peak….I am enough.

To myself….I am enough.


DONATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

As my time in the land down under comes to a close, I hope to continue to experince it as much as possible!

 

Any contribution helps & is appreciated! Contact me with more details on how to donate!!

Quote of the Week:

 

Motivation is what gets you started. Habit is what keeps you going."

 

-Jim Ryuh

 

 

 FOLLOW THE creator: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page