top of page

Happy little habits...


They say that it takes 21 days to form a habit-three measly weeks. Can you believe that? You know what else happens in three weeks--the amount of time until I fly home! As I prepare to end such an special and meaningful time in my life, I find myself asking what memories, friendships, and most importantly, what habits that I want to bring home with me. Like any young American bloke who may study abroad in the Land Down Under, it can all seem fictitious and ‘perfect’. However, as I slowly strip away the alcohol filled nights...and days… I think I may be able to find one or two things I’ve learned to hold on to.

Alone time is the Bomb.com. It’s funny that someone who loves to socialize as much as I do would say this, but really...I LOVE to be alone. Usually, I’ll just have a walk or sit and look out on the lake. It’s my chance to recharge, reflect, and re-play the little things that I find so much joy in. Taking time to see how all the little interactions, or lack thereof, make the bigger picture is pretty cool. It’s led me to be more conscious of my words and less apologetic for my mistakes. I truly think that it’s because of all of these things that we have the amazing experiences that we do.

I’m not sure if this is something you learn with age, but the simple things are the best things. And it sucks that you don’t realize this until it’s almost too late. For instance, during my alone time, I decided to take a walk along this boardwalk near campus . It’s been here forever, and I’ve always passed by it. But for this one day, I decide to walk along it. When I tell you it was the one of the most relaxed moments I’ve had since I’ve been here. It was full of wildlife and children laughing and playing. It was a perfect walk on a perfect day. I get it; you may ask why such a silly walk is giving me all the feels. Well, it’s the concept of finding joy in the simplest of things. Or maybe I’m just becoming an old man who enjoys walks along the pier now. Who knows?! All in all, I’m learning to find joy in the things that are free, natural, and close to me, which for many others is harder than you think.

Before I go, I just want to wish you all a belated Happy Thanksgiving! Although it’s not much of a holiday here, I still took time to reflect on all the wonderful people in my life who support and love me. The feeling is very much mutual. Continue to share your love and compassion throughout this world!

DONATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

As my time in the land down under comes to a close, I hope to continue to experince it as much as possible!

 

Any contribution helps & is appreciated! Contact me with more details on how to donate!!

Quote of the Week:

 

Motivation is what gets you started. Habit is what keeps you going."

 

-Jim Ryuh

 

 

 FOLLOW THE creator: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page